. . . fields of indulgence . . .

A blog about healthy living and the simple induglences in life!

Natural Hair Conditioning January 19, 2011

Filed under: Hair and Scalp Care — fieldsofindulgence @ 11:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have found that as I get older, my hair and skin are changing surely due to the hormonal changes in my body. I spent a long time worrying about it and being disappointed with these changes, but that didn’t get me anywhere! So, I am on a quest to find ways to nourish these changes and embrace them.


My new favorite indulgence is scalp massage with warm oil! This is spa treatment at home with the most simple ingredients that you can find right in your grocery store. Depending on hair type, you will use a different kind of oil, and you can also infuse these with some essential oils that will accentuate the experience.


I used about 2 Tablespoons of coconut oil with a dash of rosemary essential oil. The oil should be warmed up (over a hot water bath) just enough but not too much as the scalp is very sensitive to temperature changes. Then, you spend a good 10 minutes rubbing the oil in the scalp and through the strands of the hair. It is most beneficial to stay in this for about 30 min to an hour, so that the hair and scalp have a chance to absorb this delightful creation.


Massaging the scalp brings more circulation to it, which is thought to invigorate hair growth. The oils provide essential nutrients to the scalp and hair that are usually stripped away with the harsh chemicals used for hair care these days. Another benefit is that the oils lubricate the scalp preventing flakes and dry scalp naturally.


I have to say that my hair feels wonderful after this treatment, and I really felt like I was in a spa :)! How indulgent!


Here are some tips on oils that can be used based on hair type:
Base Oils:
Coconut or Sesame – this is a cooling oil that is good for thinning or prematurely graying hair.
Olive – good for thick and oily hair due to its purifying properties and ability to keep pores open.
Sesame or Almond – these oils are good for thin, dry, and frizzy hair.


You can also play with combining any of these. I love the smell of coconut oil and my hair is actually a combination of the above – it is more on the oily side but also pretty thin. Coconut oil is known to have thickening properties for the hair as well.


Essential Oils:
Rosemary – itchy scalp, dandruff and dry hair
Jojoba – very nourishing and very beneficial to brittly hair
Basil – stimulates circulation and good for growh
Peppermint – also stimulating…I have had several hair dressers use this on me and always feels good. It maybe a little tingly.
Lavender – balancing and all-around great herb for hair and skin
You can also add a natural scent to your hair by adding a couple of drops of essential oil to your hair brush and brush your hair well.

 

2 Responses to “Natural Hair Conditioning”

  1. janetrocks Says:

    Hey Girl,
    After the oil has set in do you have to shampoo a few times to get the oil out?

    • I only washed it out once but I left the shampoo in for a couple of minutes before washing it. I would play it by ear and see how your hair feels after the first shampoo. My hair still feels great and is so easy to work with! 🙂


Leave a comment